What happens if I am caught driving on a suspended license?

There are a variety of reasons that a license can be suspended in Utah. This includes charges like driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, giving false information to the Utah Driver’s License Division, being found incompetent to operating a vehicle, or an excessive amount of driving violations on your record. Traveling via a vehicle is almost mandatory in terms of holding a job or living a normal lifestyle. Therefore, many people are tempted to drive on a suspended license and hope they are missed doing it. Although we can certainly understand why people may feel it necessary to take this risk, the repercussions are not worth getting pulled over. Below is more information about the charges that can happen if you are caught driving on a suspended license.

Suspended license charges in Utah

Although some people may think that driving on a suspended, revoked, denied, or disqualified license is not a big deal, prosecutes are likely to feel different. Operating a motor vehicle is a large responsibility; police take it as a safety violation if someone drives a car and is not properly licensed. Driving on a suspended license will usually result in a Class B or Class C misdemeanor in Utah, depending on your case’s details. In most cases, prosecutors will need to establish that the operator was driving the car when their license was suspended. If you have been convicted of driving a vehicle on a suspended license, you should consider speaking with a criminal defense attorney in Salt Lake City, UT, to learn about your options.

A successful Class B misdemeanor conviction can result in up to 6 months in jail and a fine of $1000. This is likely to be the case if your license has been suspended due to a DUI charge. A Class C misdemeanor charge will usually be placed if your license was suspended because it is not quite as aggravating. However, the resulting punishment invoked can result in up to 90 days in jail and a $750 fine. Further sanctions can also be imposed to limit your driving ability in the future.

These punishments can negatively affect the lives of those charged. Unexpected jail time can make it difficult to hold down a job. Many employers will not be willing to give someone a 3-month vacation while they are in jail. Suppose order to get the best results possible to consider calling The Ault Firm at 801-987-8409 to learn more about your legal options and schedule a case review.

Compare listings

Compare