Almost all adult residents in Utah know that prostitution and sexual solicitation are crimes. Yet many do not understand that different activity that constitutes these crimes, much less, the penalties that can accompany a charge of this nature. It is a criminal activity in Utah to engage in prostitution (having sex for cash, money, goods or gifts), solicitation (making a deal with a prostitute or sex worker). It is also against the law to aid in hooking or pimping (exploitation of prostitutes). Fines are jail time will be increased if the person was forced, threatened, or if the person engaged in sex was underage.
The adhering to table details hooking as well as solicitation laws in Utah.
Legal Definition of Prostitution in Utah
Code Sections UTAH CODE ANN. §76-10-1302 et seq.
What is Prohibited?
Engaging in sex for pay, serving as an inmate in a house of prostitution, or loitering/being within view of a public place to be hired to engage in sexual activity
Patronizing a prostitute:
Paying or agreeing to pay for sex or entering or remaining in a house of prostitution to engage in sexual activity
Soliciting a person to patronize a prostitute, procuring or attempting to procure a prostitute for a patron, leasing or permitting a place to be used for or promotion of prostitution, providing any service or committing any act which enables or facilitates prostitution, and soliciting, receiving, or agreeing to receive a benefit for committing any of the above
Pimping (a.k.a. exploiting prostitution):
Procuring an inmate for or securing a space in a house of prostitution, encouraging, inducing, or purposely causing another to become or remain a prostitute, transporting, procuring, or paying for transportation of a person into and within the state for prostitution purposes, sharing in prostitution proceeds, owning, controlling, managing, supervising, or keeping a house of prostitution or prostitution business
It is aggravated exploitation of prostitution if the person uses force, threat, or fear to do any of the above. The above prostitute is a child, or in exploiting prostitution, the person committed human trafficking or smuggling.
Penalties Prostitution, patronizing a prostitute, and aiding prostitution are Class B misdemeanors punishable by up to 6 months in prison and up to $1,000 in fines. A second or subsequent offense of prostitution or aiding prostitution is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in prison and up to $2,500 in fines.
Patronizing a child prostitute and exploiting prostitution are third-degree felonies punishable by up to 5 years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines.
Aggravated exploitation of prostitution is a second-degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines. However, if the prostitute was a child, it is a first-degree felony punishable by up to life imprisonment and up to $10,000 in fines.
Finding a Sex Crime Defense Attorney
Even if it is your first time being charged with sexually related crimes, it is vital to have a knowledgeable Salt Lake City criminal defense attorney on your side. If you have been charged in Utah, you can use our contact page to get in touch with a legal professional. You can also call our office at 801-987-8409 to schedule a consultation or case review.