A bad decision could follow you for the rest of your life. Perhaps your decision left you facing a criminal charge, felony or misdemeanor, or an infraction. Did you know a mark on your record could impact your obtaining employment in the future, child visitation, insurance rates, impact student loans, and background authorizations, including a passport? Don’t let one bad decision escalate and become numerous bad decisions by failing to contact an experienced criminal attorney. Our lawyers may be able to help get you out of jail, work out a plea deal or lessen your conviction or be able to obtain additional evidence to establish innocence or minimize punishment.
Misdemeanors, Felonies and Infractions
Misdemeanors involve lower-level charges than felonies. Misdemeanors can carry up to 364 days of jail time. There are three different categories of misdemeanor charges: A, B, and C. A Misdemeanor A category can bring up to 364 days in jail along with a fine of $2,500; a misdemeanor B category can bring with it up to 6 months of jail time and a fine of $1,000 or community service, and a Misdemeanor C can bring 90 days of jail time and a fine of $750 or community service. Under Utah law, community service has a compensation rate of $10.00 per hour. Community service can be performed for a state or local government agency, a nonprofit organization, or another entity or organization if approval is obtained from the court. Examples of misdemeanor crimes can include, minor drug or paraphernalia charges, drunk driving, indecent exposure, supplying alcohol to a minor, solicitation, prostitution, and public intoxication.
As to felonies, there are also different categories and levels. The is a capital felony that brings life in prison and can include the possibility of life without parole or perhaps even the death penalty. A first-degree felony could mean five years to life in prison and carry a $10,000 fine; a second-degree felony could leave you with a prison term of one to 15 years and a $10,000 fine, and lastly, a third-degree felony would mean zero to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine. Felony charges are serious charges and can include: charges of murder, rape, arson, repeated DUI charges, kidnapping, and armed burglary. If you are convicted of a felony, you are then considered to be a felon.
Utah law also allows the charge of infractions. Infractions can carry a fine of up to $750.00 or community service. They can also lead to a loss or forfeiture of a privilege – such as a driver’s license. You can be charged with an infraction for such things as traffic violations, operating a business without a license, walking a dog without a leash, littering, jaywalking, or disturbing the peace.
Our skilled attorneys work tirelessly to defend your rights. When you do go to court, the State, County, or City will have an attorney working for them. Our attorneys have the skills, resources, and ability to not only defend you but help obtain the best outcome possible. Our team will be by your side for the entirety of your case and ensure that you understand the complicated legal and criminal process.
Contact our office today so we can discuss your case and go over your rights with you.