The short answer is yes; in almost every case, if you receive a DUI charge in Utah, you will lose your license. Nearly every state in the Nation participates in what is called the administrative license suspension laws. Under these laws, there are two ways that you can have your license confiscated and suspended.
- By refusing to take a blood alcohol content test.
- By submitting to the blood alcohol content test and receiving a BAC level of %0.08 or higher.
If you are curious about the typical BAC rates for different individuals, a chart can show you where you would be based on your height, weight, and gender.
BAC Chart Men and Women
The striking thing about these laws is that they do not require due process or even a burden of proof to be imposed. Even before you are convicted in Utah, and even if it is your first offense, the arresting officer should confiscate your license and replace it with a temporary permit that expires in 29 days. Then on the 30th day, the driver’s license division can suspend your license for up to 120 days. If you do get a suspension, you may appeal the suspension by filling out a driver’s license hearing request form online; however, it is unlikely that the judgment of the officer who thought you were impaired is going to be second-guessed.
They have already taken my license, what else can happen to me?
As you can probably guess, the punishments and levels of severity of those punishments are left up to the court’s discretion. Typically the court and prosecuting officials will look at your previous criminal record and the circumstances of a DUI arrest to determine what penalties they will be imposing. These penalties range from:
- Jail time.
- Community service
- A series of fines plus court costs
- The suspension of your driver license
- Treatment for alcohol or drug abuse, whether you have a problem or not
- The court may also require installing an “interlock” device on your car that checks your breath for alcohol before the ignition will operate.
Being charged with driving under the influence of driving while intoxicated crime is a serious charge. In the coming weeks, we are going to speak about his matter in further detail. We will talk about mandatory interlock devices and what you can expect life to be like after a DUI charge. The good news is that most people can get their license back within 90 days or less. If you have any questions you would like to ask our Josh or the rest of The Ault Firm, please fill them out in the comment section below. If you have questions or concerns regarding your case, we urge you to call today to receive a consultation: