Utah is in an exciting place. We are a generally conservative state, with a strong religious presence. Like Colorado, California, and Nevada, our surrounding neighbors seem to have a different way of life. All three of these states have enormously changed their marijuana laws, allowing for recreational use. Marijuana is a Schedule 1 controlled substance and is illegal to possess, baring a legitimate medical reason. The amount in possession determines the punishments and charges associated with drugs.
Charges ranging from minor to major
- Possession of paraphernalia
- Possession with intent to deliver
- Distribution, sale, or delivery of marijuana or paraphernalia
- Cultivation – growing and/or harvesting cannabis seeds
- Trafficking – importing into or exporting out of the state
It does come down to the amount of marijuana the person has in their possession during the arrest.
- One ounce or less – class B misdemeanor
- Up to six months of jail time
- Up to $1,940 in fines and an assessment
- Possession in a drug-free zone such as a school, church, or park can result in a charge being upgraded to a class A misdemeanor
- Between one ounce and one pound – class A misdemeanor
- Up to 12 months of jail time
- Up to $4,790 in fines and an assessment
- Between one and 100 pounds – a third-degree felony
- Up to five years in Utah State Prison
- Up to $9,540 in fines
- Over 100 pounds – a second-degree felony
- Up to 15 years in Utah State Prison
- Up to $19,040 in fines and an assessment
The punishments associated with these charges can have a massive impact on the accused. If you have been charged or arrested due to marijuana possession in Salt Lake City, contact an experienced defense attorney today. At The Ault Firm, we are here to provide a case review to help you know where you stand in the eyes of the law.